That’s MRS. Procrastinator to you.

27 Sep

I have some really good excuses for not posting to this blog, mkay. Here’s some things I did:

1. Got married. To a looker.

*Photos by Julian Wettlin at http://jwettlin.tumblr.com/.

2. Got a mother$%*&in’ job.

As a librarian, not Bat Girl. I’ll take what I can get, though.

3. Indulged in the new fall TV lineup.

4. Laid on the floor with my cat, Barbara.

5. Consumed multiple delicious dishes of Mexican food at various Mexican restaurants.

Most of those things are some pretty grown-up things. Cosmopolitan even. Reduce my portions sizes and swap Barb out for Mr. Big and it’s positively Sex and the City. But there’s also some things I’ve NOT been doing:

1. Making things. Writing about making things.

2. Washing my wedding dress. I actually did try to do this, but it’s so dirty from tearin’ it up on the outdoor dance floor, that when I took it to the dry-cleaners the manager lady bum-rushed all the clothing racks in her hurry to get The Dress off of her counter, all the while shouting, “Nuh-uh. No way. No way. No.” That’s true. That happened.

So, as I’ve failed in the few craft pursuits I’ve embarked on since my last post (grown up Girl Scout badges and lady fashion cape from an old skirt among them), I thought I would post a list of things other, more successful and motivated people are doing that I’ve added to my Make This list. If you have the means, I would highly recommend:

DIY Scratch-Off Tickets

If I wasn’t so incredibly lazy, I would have totally made these DIY lottery tickets from the folks over at Dollar Store Crafts. A little silver paint, dish soap, and packing tape and I could have provided my loved ones with tons-a-fun. But I didn’t. But you should. Leave fun little messages under the paint, like “I’m watching you right now…and always” or “I need that shirt you borrowed back”.

Yarn-wrapped Letters

Sarah Ortega made these awesome yarn wrapped letters from those cardboard initials you get at craft stores and…yarn. This is a great way for people that say they’re going to learn how to knit to use all that yarn they bought before they gave up because their sweaty hands made the needles sticky. It would also be a thoughtful gift for someone who, let’s say, maybe just got married and changed their name and maybe would like a gift like this…hmmm?

Salted Caramel Pears

Uh, what’s classier than a caramel apple?  A half-carameled pear with that Bougie sea-salt everyone loves so much. Well done, Fresh New England blog.

Sock Bun

Did you know you can cut the toe off of your sock and stick it in your hair to make your high bun even more voluptuous? Me either. But now we both do. And, if we ever get around to washing our socks and finding the scissors, we’ll never have to suffer with limp buns again. PS: the girl in this video is super cute so you should watch it even if you don’t have enough hair or socks for a sock bun.

Party Props

These photobooth props from Little Retreats Etsy shop are a perfect party gift for your hostess, if you ever do get invited to a party again. Photobooth or not, think of all the drunken fun these glasses n’ mustaches can make. For some reason, these days, people love them some mustaches. So, despite your social awkwardness, you might actually be the life of the party with these. The package pictured above costs a whopping $52, but if you can get your hands on some cardstock, glue, and pencils or sticks you could whip some a’deese up no problem.

Alright, time to add Showered and Finished Book Club Book to my list of grown-uppy things. Smell ya later.

3 Responses to “That’s MRS. Procrastinator to you.”

  1. Anne September 27, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    1. Congratulations! 2. Congratulations! 3. Is that Zooey Deschanel show watchable? (It looked a bit too over the top cute for me from the previews.) 4. Aww. 5. Nom!

    I love those party props!

    • anniee September 30, 2011 at 8:36 am #

      Thanks and thanks! Zooey is a bit cutesy. The first episode was actually better than the second, which is worrisome. It’s like they didn’t think of any other ideas past, “We got Zooey Deschanel!”

      • Anne September 30, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

        Oh, I can see that happening. D’oh!

Leave a Reply

