It’s for my…Vitamins: Thrifted Pill Case

5 May

I found this vintage pill case at a yard sale a few years ago. I love the flowered pattern on the front of the case and the trippy circles on the back:

It reminds me of something one of Don Draper’s girlfriends might carry around in her clutch. Of course it would probably be filled with some sort of barbiturate to be taken at martini o’clock whilst lounging on a fainting couch, but it’s still classy looking. Sort of.

The problem with this tiny case is that the inside looks kind of gross and like maybe you’d be better off keeping your pills on the floor:

The Pill Bar form on the top inside is okay looking. I was actually hoping someone would have written in it so I could look that person up in the phonebook and meet for coffee and she would be some dazzling older woman with a crazy past. I’d hear all of her wild stories and we’d laugh about that silly rest cure and she’d tell me how she gave up pill popping when she became a feminist and we’d be best friends and she’d have me over for brunch and let me look through her vintage wardrobe and take whatever I wanted. But. Blank it was. Hazard of the thrifting trade.

Because nothing but pills that is useful would fit in it (and if you can think of something, please let me know) and because I’ve been carrying around ibuprofen in a plastic sandwich bag like the weird old aunt spinster lady, I thought I’d revamp my thrift find by adding a cleaner bottom that would simultaneously make this pill case sassier and sanitary-er. During a recent trip to Arts & Scraps, I had picked up some old wallpaper/fabric samples and had a piece of vinyl that worked well because it’s cushier than paper.

I was planning on gluing the square to the inside of the case, but it ended up just sort of snugly fitting in there.  It still looked a little boring so I cut out a picture of a feather from a paper store advertisement I’d got in the mail and glued it to the inside.

Oh, lovely. I think whatever lady that gave this up when she went to rehab would be proud. Though a pill case might be a suggestive gift for some, I would consider giving this to someone who I already know carries around pills or other tiny things in their purse. Or if you could find a kick-ass cigarette holder and a martini shaker you could give it as a gift set. Some girls have all the vices…

2 Responses to “It’s for my…Vitamins: Thrifted Pill Case”

  1. Suzy September 27, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    I may need to file “martini o’clock” away for future use. May I borrow it?

    • anniee September 27, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

      Of course Suzy!

Leave a Reply

