Stamp the Date: Wedding Task 1 of 84 Bazillion

22 Jan

I’ve become that woman.

I wake up thinking about table centerpieces; I obsess over which menu items seem the most “late-summery”; and I just finished an email where I tried to describe a color as “take like a mauve but more purple and then make Italian ice out of it, that’s the color I’m looking for”.

I’m getting married and it’s made me go crazy.

At first, I really didn’t think it would take too much thought. Love, a pretty dress, food, band, booze. Then I joined theknot.com and was told I had 349 things on my to-do list and 46 of them were overdue. I counted again: love (1), pretty dress (2)… (three hours later)… call to book guest hotel rooms (347), make seating tags (348), make sure my brother really isn’t planning on wearing a Superman Snuggie (349).

Oh @#%*.

Thankfully, despite the ever-looming presence of The Knot timing and judging my every move, we got a lot of the important stuff figured out rather quickly. And one of the first things me and the future-hubs get to check off of our list is our Save the Date cards!

Our materials: blank white postcards and white envelopes, a $12 pack of wildflower stamps (we’re getting married in a garden so  we thought it would be fitting), a few different colors of inkpads, a plastic stamp block, and some acrylic alphabet stamps.

The last two items were kind of a revelation. You can buy these stamp blocks, then cut up acrylic stamps and stick them on the block so that you can make a stamp that says whatever you want. We chose a lyric from the Talking Heads song “This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)” for the front of our save the dates. Then we stamped a different combo of our wildflower stamps in different colors on each card.

On the back of the postcard, we changed our stamp so that it read “mike & annie save the date”, stamped away, then changed it again and stamped our date in black. I was a little leery about the font for the date, but I grew to like it because it sort of looks handwritten and because I really had to pee at Jo-Ann’s when we were picking stamps out and would have said yes to anything:

We didn’t want the envelopes to look boring, so we stamped them with the wildflower stamps, and changed the acrylic stamp AGAIN to read our last names. So, just for our Save the Dates, we ended up making 3 different stamps for the price of that stamp block and a few packs of acrylic stamps. And we can reuse them AGAIN for our invitations and our thank-you cards. I think I’ll just go ahead and add a Thrifty Wedding Puller Offer badge to my imaginary Girl Scout vest.

Here’s the whole stack in all it’s glory. We were able to crank out a little over 200 homemade Save the Dates in one night with minimal cost and grumbling.

PS: I’m quitting The Knot. They keep sending me junk mail and frankly, I don’t appreciate the attitude.

6 Responses to “Stamp the Date: Wedding Task 1 of 84 Bazillion”

  1. Karen January 23, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    They were cute, honey, but’s a good thing we knew what we were saving the date for, because you didn’t save. Uncle Jay is easily confused:) We can’t wait – nothing is going to keep us from coming, unless I can’t figure out what to wear 🙂 Way too many faces freakin’ faces.
    Love you guys,
    ac

  2. Karen January 23, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    I mean, way too many happy freakin’ faces!

  3. Sarah/Enid January 31, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    Okay, this post just got linked from Offbeatbride.com, and a) LOVE the stampy STDs (heh heh), and b) just avoid the Knot. It’s frighteningly traditional and loaded with that subliminal “If you do not do this, your wedding will FAIL” BS.

  4. Jessica_Iowa January 31, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Darling the save the dates look divine!
    I’ll tell you to cut the cord with The Snot is a wise choice. I’ll tell you that the extra work you do to get off all the lists are very worth it.

  5. deirdre milks January 31, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    This list is WAY more fun.. http://offbeatbride.com/2008/01/the-official-offbeat-wedding-checklist

  6. deirdre milks January 31, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Gack! clicked post too quickly/by accident! Meant to say: I lurve that song and the wildflower stamps look fantastic! Did you carve them yourself?

Leave a Reply

