First Anniversary of Thriftfulness!: Sweet Yes Tea Party

14 Apr

Note: Today, my blog is one year old. Happy birthday blog. I made you some springtime sweets. Thanks readers for continuing to read.

When I was a young’n, one of my favorite things to play outside was “Feed the President” with my cousins. I guess we chose him because he was the most important person we could think of, although we might not have actually known who “The President” was. We would walk down to my Grandma and Grandpa’s house and Grandma would give us empty butter tubs and jam jars to prepare our “meals” in. It was always a decadent multi-course affair: grass salad, ditch-water soup, pinecones wrapped in dirty empty candy-wrappers that we found in the woods. We had dead leaves for plates, twigs for silverware, but dessert was the best part because sometimes for dessert, Grandma would make actual food! Blueberries and milk with sugar were my favorite, so tasty that we ate Mr. President’s helping too…

What my wonderful Grandma did with her empty butter tubs and August blueberries made us feel special and that’s the best gift a kid can get. If you’ve got a kid in your life who deserves a thank you or some special attention, I suggest giving them a Sweet Yes Tea Party (called “Sweet Yes” because I once sent a text to my beau telling him he should try the sweet tea at a local foodery but that ol’ T9 word switched my letters around, which caused the waitress some confusion when he ordered some “delicious sweet yes”).

You can make a tea party for little to no cash. Part of the fun is gathering things from around the house to take outside (or to the living room, if it’s April Showers-ing). Springtime makes me feel girly so I pulled out all the delicate and dainty things I could find, including this pretty little cookie tin:

….which I had stored some homemade Snickerdoodle cookies in. Usually, you’re supposed to cover these in cinnamon and sugar, but I couldn’t find the cinnamon and used up all of the sugar in the cookies, so I rolled them in Apple Pie spice instead. It made the house smell delicious! I presented them to my imaginary tea party friends on this lovely flower plate I found in a thrift store for a buck or two last year.

Next on the menu: sugar, sugar, and more sugar. I had a pretty lemon flavored popsicle that’s a perfect Sweet Yes garnish. Then I grabbed my tiny flower petal bowls and filled them with Lucky Charms marshmallows. What could make a kid feel more special than getting marshmallows without those pesky oat nubbins? And last, but tastiest, I made strawberry soup, a fun springtime treat for kids. It’s easy to make and pretty cheap when strawberries are in season (see recipe below). And I thought it gave the picnic a certain, how do you say, fancy pantsy-ness.

Almost as important as tasty picnic snacks is a cutesy tea party centerpiece. I made the bunny below from pom-poms and felt (a Martha pattern that is way hard to follow), with pipe cleaner arms and legs and a dress made from ribbons. I even made a little tulip bouquet for this baby bunny out of toothpicks and fabric scraps. Then I glued her feet onto a jar lid covered in felt (and I embroidered some tiny flowers on that felt… I know, I’ve got time on my hands). Finally, I plopped her on a dainty plate and spread little purple flowers from my yard around her feet. If you don’t have little purple flowers, dandelions and clovers look just as decadent. Wa la! Fanciful tea party centerpiece!

I grabbed a pretty sheet from my closet (it’s actually a curtain, I think) and laid all my tea party goodies on it. Then to hold the sheet down, I put ramekins on the corners and put lemons in them to make the ramekins, as the Style Network might say, pop.

Aah. A beautiful sunny day, perfect for afternoon treats and Sweet Yes. If the President was in town, I bet he’d dig my strawberry soup. But I’d rather have Grandma over. She’s my V.I.G (Very Important Grandma).

Materials:

  • Old flowered sheet
  • Ramekins (or anything heavy enough to hold down the sheet that is also fancy-looking)
  • Various sugary and dainty goodies and pretty plates
  • Sweet Yes and teacups (or yes-cups)
  • Bunny Centerpiece: pom-poms, felt, pipe-cleaners, googly eyes, ribbons, embroidery thread and needle, and some smokin’ hot glue

Strawberry Soup Recipe (this makes way more than you need for a tiny tea party so feel free to scale down):

Strawberries (2 pints), with the tops cut off

Buttermilk (2/3 cup): I don’t spend money on buttermilk. The rest of the carton always ends up going bad because I don’t have any other reason to use buttermilk. Instead, mix a tablespoon of lemon juice per cup of regular milk. It gives the milk the same consistency and you can’t taste the difference in any of the recipes I’ve tried it with. We don’t call it Thriftfulness for nothin’ folks.

Sugar (1/3 cup): Like I said I was out of white sugar, so I used brown.

Ice cubes (3 or 4)

Mix all the ingredients in a food processor until smooth. Spoon into bowls and eat up!

4 Responses to “First Anniversary of Thriftfulness!: Sweet Yes Tea Party”

  1. Karen Skocik April 18, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Excellent strawberry soup. I’ll be sure to make it again!

    • anniee April 19, 2010 at 8:47 am #

      Glad you liked it! It’s refreshing, huh?

  2. cat naps July 16, 2010 at 12:09 am #

    You can make your own buttermilk by pouring about a quarter cup of buttermilk (need to check the exact quantity) into a quart of milk (any kind). I put it in a Mason jar, with a lid. Let it sit on the counter 12 to 24 hours. Buttermilk for the price of milk.

    • anniee July 21, 2010 at 5:39 pm #

      Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

