Armchair Spring Break: Putting the S back in Scrap-Crafts

23 Mar

This year, what happens on spring break stays on my couch. Because that’s where I’ll be. Without so much as the cable television to watch others enjoying themselves on vacay. I’m resourceful, but not resourceful enough to come up with Cabo cash. Or Vegas cash. Or even Delaware cash. What I can do is camp out in my Bermuda shorts with a microwaved hot dog and a pile of junk and daydream about the next time I get out of Dodge.

Which is how I came up with the little gifty I made for my summer road-trip buddy: a little pre-road trip preparation. While organizing my collage materials (Thrifty New Year’s Resolution. Check.) into categories such as Buildings and Objects, Animals and People, Retro, and Nature-y, I decided to create a clipboard for my Road-Trip Skipper so that we would have a place to keep all our important road trip documents…should we scare up the money to go on another road trip.

I used the cover of an old childrens’ text book about atomic energy and a chip-clip (genius! I know!) to create the board. Then I decoupaged the s*@# out of it.

Here’s the front.

Then I added the chip-clip to the other side and proceeded with the decoupaging and the cursing:

You likey? Halfway through my masterpiece, the resident cat of the house decided to take an evening stroll on the dining room table and left many a missing collage scrap in his wake. I’m pretty sure it was sabotage. He’s always wanted to collage, but he doesn’t have opposable thumbs. Or talent. Pssh. I rallied and ended up with this beaut! The great thing about collaging with scraps is that you can never remember what you have or where you put it so you’re not all that upset when you lose it.

This time around, I used Rubber Cement instead of Mod Podge because my craft closet is (throat clearing) difficult to get inside of at the moment. Anyhoo, it worked well. I’m not sure how well the chip-clip will hold up. It’s on there pretty good but it’s also cheap plastic. How many awesome road trip plans can we pinch in there before she blows? We might never know.

This would make a superb gift for spring breakers who are driving somewhere, or musicians you know that are touring, or truckers…anyone that spends a lot of time in the car. It’s thin so it doesn’t take up much space but it’s bright so drivers won’t lose it. And they can clip all their important things to it: directions, phone numbers of hotels and restaurants, tic tac toe charts (for the passenger, for the passenger), campground maps, and toll dolla billz. Plus, it makes a great makeshift tabletop for fast food chompin’  and it’s perfect for beating on when a song with an awesome drum solo comes on the radio.

Materials: Scrap paper, an old book cover, a chip-clip, Rubber Cement, and markers.

Cost: $0 for me, Rubber Cement and a chip-clip shouldn’t cost more than $5 or $6 altogether.

Time: As much or as little as you like!

If you desperately want to collage or use up extra scrap paper, but you don’t feel like giving someone who’s already getting the gift of fun in the sun another present, I won’t judge. There are a lot of other things you can do with all those pretty pages you’ve saved up:

  • birthday and thank you cards, or postcards. Send a homemade postcard from your house to friends and write stuff like, “Catching up on the Price is Right. Wish you were here.” or “Gotta go, scheduled to vacuum the Cheeto dust off my lap at noon. Spring break 2010!!!”
  • home decor (scan the collage, then blow it up, print, and frame it)
  • envelopes for capital L Love letters: a lovely in my life made this beautiful envelope out of a leftover gift bag. Signed, Sealed, Delivered!:
  • calendar and/or dayplanner pages. A few years ago, I wanted to make my own dayplanner. I was going to make pictures for all of the pages, scan and shrink them, and put them into a notebook….I never got around to it. But it would have made a great gift. Now, I’m thinking about making them into a calendar, by copying the pictures into something like Microsoft Publisher and adding a calendar grid to each page. Here are some of the pictures I’m planning on using:

I had so much fun making my scrap paper crafts, I temporarily forgot that I wasn’t on spring break…Alright, I didn’t forget. Not even close. While others are lounging in pools and re-capping what happened when they blacked out last night, I’m at my dining room table with two sweaters on and no one has offered to buy me a drink if I take either one of them off. It’s Crafters Gone Wild: Apartment Style…

3 Responses to “Armchair Spring Break: Putting the S back in Scrap-Crafts”

  1. rick roche March 24, 2010 at 1:04 am #

    The second photo reminds me of Monty Python animations. I expect to see something peek out from behind those buildings. Thanks for posting.

  2. Mom March 24, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    Got a few much-needed chuckles out of this one. I guess we’ll just have to settle for dreams of a dream vacation.

  3. karol October 1, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    I like these ideas. I started making a collage ABC book recently but for adults more than kids: divas, dogs, and donuts, for example.

Leave a Reply

