Wrapper’s Delight: Cloth Covered Necklace

22 Jan

Winter. Boo. It’s getting to that point in the season where the gloomy gray skies and the heating bills and Conan going off the air are really starting to bring people down. So I’ve been thinking all week about pick-me-up gifts. Little things we can give to our family and friends that aren’t a big deal, but maybe put a little spunk back in their step (remember the English-dubbed Pippi Longstocking movie: SPUUUUUUUUNK!). But I had the grumps all week, which tends to zap your creativity. Luckily, while perusing the Craft blog a few days ago, I came across a tutorial for beaded fabric necklaces from a neat little blog called Pretty Ditty. I say luckily, because you guys were this close to getting a post about how to throw a pity party, called The Gift You Give Yourself: put on sweat pants, whisper “table for one” every time you sit down to eat, check all the Facebook status updates of people that are generally better at life than you are, etc. It wasn’t a pretty post.

Annnnyhoo, I thought the cloth-covered necklace would be a great gift to make for someone because A) who doesn’t love a fun necklace? B) it looks more complicated than it really is and people will think you’re super talented and C) it’s something you can make that will add a little color to an otherwise gloomy and slushy time of year. Plus, at first, I thought it would be funny to name the post “‘Cover Your Balls”.

Pretty Ditty has good instructions here, so I’m not going to rewrite them. But here’s the gist of what I did:

Gathered materials: cloth, beads, string, needle. And I have a sewing machine so I used that but you don’t need one.

I may have mentioned this before but I found all these beads at an antique store in an economy-size applesauce jar for $2! Some of them were a little dingy looking so they were the ones that I chose for the necklace since they’ll be hidden by the fabric. I found some really colorful cloth that I had bought at a garage sale a few years back. It had sort of an island-y feel to it, which is a great contrast to The Land That Sun Forgot over here in the Midwest. Because I’m a hoarder, this necklace ended up costing $0 for me to make!

I sewed a tube from the fabric just wide enough for the beads to fit into. The most time-intensive part of this project is pulling the tube out of itself because you have to sew the fabric inside out for the seams not to show. After that grunt work, everything else seems like cake. I dropped the beads into the tube, then took a long piece of string and wrapped it around the cloth where the beads begin and end so that they were sort of encased inside the tube. Again, much better directions available here.

Well, cover me happy! I think it turned out pretty well. I’m going to give this one to my roomie for being so supportive of me and turning on Mad Men for me while I was making this necklace. And later, I think I’m going to use the fabric from some tights that I shrunk to make another one…for myself. SPUUUUUUUUUUNK!

2 Responses to “Wrapper’s Delight: Cloth Covered Necklace”

  1. Mom January 22, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    Movie clip was cute. I already ripped the necklace idea out of a magazine years ago, but its a good one, so thanks for the reminder.

  2. laura B January 22, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    ***NOTE TO ANNIE. A quick, easy and inexpensive way to turn a tube of fabric back inside right. Take a piece of string, slightly longer than the tube you are making. Tie one or two knots in one end of the string, then lay the piece of string inside of the tube that you want to sew, with the knots hanging out near the short closed seam end. Sew your tube, stitching right over the string on the short end, and making sure that the string doesn’t get sewn in anyplace along the long end of your tube. When you are done just pull on the string and it will turn your tube for you! Tada! Hope this helps, learned that one from my mom the seamstress.

Leave a Reply

