Random Stuff I Found

20 Oct

My own yard sale

I take things.

If I have to, I’ll pay for them. But I prefer to discover them in a cardboard box, on someone’s porch, even on the ground. No, especially on the ground. It just feels better than seeing something on a shelf next to thirty of it’s twin sisters and brothers. If Target or Macy’s wants more of my business, they should start leaving home appliances and lady’s accessories on the sidewalk between my apartment and the park. It’s where I do the majority of my shopping.

I’ve acquired quite a collection for myself this way: a porch swing, dining room chairs, and, most recently, a free sombrero. Since I don’t have my Halloween costume post ready, I decided to do a hit list of the best things I found this yard sale season:

The greatest love of allRecords! This summer, I found the greatest love of all- and it’s Whitney Houston singing “How Will I Know” on vinyl for .50. Also under $1: Aretha Franklin’s Who’s Zoomin’ Who featuring the classic, “We goin’ ridin’ on freeway. Of love in my pink Cadillac!”; Sonny and Cher singing “Baby Don’t Go” and “A Groovy Kind of Love” and my greatest accomplishment of Summer 2009: Girl Groups: The Story of a Sound! This record has the Shirelles, the Supremes, the Angels (“My Boyfriend’s Back”), and my two personal favorite girl groups: Martha Reeves and the Vandellas (“Please Mr. Postman”) and the Shangri Las (“Leader of the Pack”). I can’t find the Shangri Las anywhere in record stores! I would have dropped $20 for all the songs on this record. And I got it for a few dimes and some dryer lint from my pocket. Score.

Cultured Pearls

a box

fancy boxFancy boxes. I found these two at a really dirty thrift store for $1 each. The top box is an old pearl necklace case and makes the perfect packaging for a gift certificate or a fancy sleep mask ala Holly Golightly. The latter has gold zodiac signs all around the top and beautiful red satin inside. I was going to use it as a gift box to give next time I found great costume jewelry or other small treasures…but I ended up keeping it for myself and now I keep my perfumes and lady scents in there. Bee-yoot-iful.

VernThat’s Jack-o-Lantern Vern in the sombrero I found for FREE. I was walking home from the park and saw a Free Box on someone’s porch. From the men’s clothes in the box (a North-Face jacket, belts, dress shirts) and the aggression with which “Free! Take!” was written, I’m assuming somebody’s Mr. just got kicked out of the house. But a free sombrero is a free sombrero.

Grubby old cartA grubby old cart. Okay, I “found” this in the back of one of my closets, full of odd socks. But I hadn’t realized it was there so it’s new to me. As you can see, it’s in pretty rough shape.

grubby close upThe plastic casing is peeling off and is making this useful cart look a little worse for the wear. I’m including it in this post because I’m going to make it into a gem. My plan is to take the rest of the white paint off and refashion it somehow. Right now, I’m thinking lime green… For the time being it is serving as a nifty (if not a little wabi-sabi) holder for my cold-weather scarves and hats.

Thanks to all the yard sales, to all of the thrift shops too messy for anyone else to want to look through and to all the cheating husbands who got kicked out and made my little discoveries possible. I couldn’t have done it without you guys.

4 Responses to “Random Stuff I Found”

  1. kris October 20, 2009 at 6:01 pm #

    Annie,
    This is all very well, but be careful that you don’t collect old newspapers in piles to the ceiling!

  2. Amy Webb October 20, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

    Rest assured, I am going to find a copy of that Girl Groups album and make it a home in my stereo cabinet! 🙂 Awesome post as usual, Annie!

  3. Erin MIshler October 21, 2009 at 7:32 am #

    Love it all! Can’t wait for the next one. xo

  4. Anitra Cameron October 28, 2009 at 1:58 pm #

    I love the way you shop! I’ve had some sweet finds, but my mom’s the pro–she even has a lovely sideboard in her dining room to show off!

Leave a Reply

