I Can Tell That We Are Gonna Be Friends: Back to School Notebook

15 Sep

Back to school. Funny shaped erasers from the quarter machine. New backpack smell. New magazines to make a collage for your locker. These are few of the new-schooly things.

I’m not in school anymore. I could go out and buy a new backpack anyway… but I can’t afford one because of my student loan payments. Oh well, I can live relive the memories of my days before major debt by making a Back to School Notebook for my lovely niecy-poo, who started seventh grade last week.

DSCN1229I bought a new notebook for $1, collected some sweet pictures from magazines and rubber cemented a cover that I thought she could rock in the hallways, complete with a waving hand to remind niecey to raise hers!

Photo 27But an awesome collage does not a back to school gift make. Tweens get bored. So I wrote special notes every few pages to surprise my niece or keep her entertained. A “Take Good Notes” here, a “Pay Attention” there, sure. But some fun stuff too.

DSCN1220On one page, I asked what she would want a front page story about her to read like.

DSCN1224On another, I asked her to draw her favorite hot lunch.

DSCN1227And on another, a story brainstorming chart: This word…makes you think of this…which makes you think of…and so on.

On some pages I wrote a word and asked her to guess the definition, then look it up. Some pages, I just asked her what her mood was or gave her a whole page to complain, or designated a spot for her to interview a friend. A page to experiment with her handwriting, to draw a mini art show, to make a wish list, to write me a letter. Ok, I got a little carried away. But when have you ever filled up a whole notebook with actual notes?

This would make a good gift for a lot of back-to-schoolers but especially kids that are switching schools, little kids just learning to read (they can take it to school or keep it at home) or a college student who just moved away from home and needs to feel special and terribly missed. There are activity books out there, but they cost like $15 and there is nothing special about them. If you’re strapped for ideas on how to fill pages, you can grab ideas from those books…and then go home and make your own for, that’s right, one dollar.

Let the little scholar in your life walk to school with a custom made activity notebook that looks and IS super sweet. They’ll be so grateful for the gift that they might even let you smell their new backpack…

2 Responses to “I Can Tell That We Are Gonna Be Friends: Back to School Notebook”

  1. Amy Webb September 16, 2009 at 6:14 am #

    Awesome as usual!!

  2. Allison October 3, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

    Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

