Pink Lady: DIY Lipstick

17 Aug

rizzo

Warning: Abundance of lines from the movie Grease ahead. Dedicated to my nieces and nephews who love it just as much as I do and will be embarrassed when they’re older and discover what they’re really singing about in “Greased Lightning”.

A story, to you from me Pinky Lee:

I don’t have a great pink lipstick, and the magazines are touting its inevitable “hotness” this season. Am I too pure to be pink? I think not. I said to myself, Self, these summer days are driftin’ away…and I need me a pink lipstick.

So, I mosied to a few department stores and saw just the shade I wanted…for $25.00. There are worse things I could do, then go with a boy or two, and it’s spend $25 on lipstick. Smell ya later department store. I went to Walgreens where I found a tube for $6.00. But then I brought it home and put it on and realized that, these days, “shiny” = little pieces of glitter stuck in all the crevices of my lips. Not attractive. Not at all. I felt like a beauty school dropout. (Side note: I used to think the line was “missed your mid-perms and flunked shampoo, which actually makes a lot more sense). My pep rally days are over, I’m not Patty Simcox, so I returned the lipstick and got my $6 back, just enough for a Double Polar burger wit’ everything and a cherry soda.

Fortunately, I had a little Sneaky Pete to get the party goin’…in the form of several old tubes or lipstick and a jar of vaseline. I made my own perfect fresh bloom shade of pink, no glitter included. It sure beats the foam domes around here. You can do it too! It ain’t moonlight and roses (did that one make sense?):

What you’ll need:

-lipstick in various shades of whatever color you want to make (if you’re making this for a gift, cut off the part you’ve been rubbing on your lips), Peachy Keen Jellybean or Too Pure to Be Pink are good shades for Grease-themed gifts as well as my fave shade of red, Maraschino- as- in- the- Cherry Red.

-a jar of vaseline or Greased Lightnin’ as I like to call it

-a toothpick or clean cuticle pusher thingy or whatever you can use to stir and mix

-a small empty jar (think used up Burt’s Bees lotion containers or anything dainty looking that didn’t recently house dangerous chemicals like Kenickie’s hair product)

– a small bowl or lid to mix in

-a “second” in case, right before you make the lipstick you bend over to pick up a penny and get your lights knocked out by a car door

What you’ll do:

Rules are there ain’t no rules, but here are some guidelines. Cut off small chunks of the lipstick (go really small at first so you don’t waste if you make an icky color) and mix the different shades to your desired color. Then mix a little bit of vaseline at a time. Make sure it doesn’t get too greasy. You don’t want the neighborhood to think you’re trashy and no good (though I suppose it could be true). Lastly, transfer it to your jar.

If you’re making this as a gift, decorate the jar. You can paint designs on it with nail polish or put stickers on it. Make sure to tie a pretty piece of ribbon around it and ring a ding-ding. You’re done.

This makes a good gift for a lady (or gent) who could use a boost: someone interviewing for a new job (Gift tag: your future’s so unclear now, what’s left of your career now?) or going on a first date (Gift tag: You’re gonna get so many hickies people will think you’re a leper!).

Having a new fun color for the kisser…isn’t it the most, to say the least…

the very least.

5 Responses to “Pink Lady: DIY Lipstick”

  1. Mom August 18, 2009 at 8:02 am #

    Annie, this was hilarious, but I just might try it as I can’t find a decent shade of lipstick myself. I am Hopelessly Devoted to You…and this blog. Love Ya.

  2. Your niece!!! August 19, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

    I really like that and thanks for dedicating it to us!!! This was the first blog that I have read and loved it!!

  3. chrissi June 23, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    haha, this is awesome. thank you so much.

  4. girlywithdacurl February 4, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    THIS IS THE BEST POST I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE. ❤ YES. I LOVE IT. I'M FOLLOWING YOU. YOU ARE AN AWESOME HUMAN BEING.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 Cheap Things: January « Thriftfulness - January 11, 2010

    […] -Mix it with your face powder when you run out of foundation. Mix it with your old lipsticks to make a pretty lip balm (See my post on how to make a pink lipstick!). […]

Leave a Reply

