Not Quite Ready For Oragami: Pop-Up Card

22 Jul

I was going to dedicate this post to the beauty of pop-up cards and their ability to brighten the day of friends or family with their 3D awesomeness. I was going to show this awesome children’s book that I found on the free table at a library and talk about all the wonderful collages I planned to make with it.

DSC02952

I was going to make a beautiful collage/pop-up card for my friend and brag about what a great and cheap gift it is. I was going to take brighter pictures. I did cut out this literate rhinoceros.

DSC02959It had promise, right? But I ended up making the lamest pop-up card ever. First off, I followed internet instructions that weren’t very thorough. Second, I cut out a picture that was too big to fit folded up in a card. Third, I made a tiny pop-up step. See below:
DSC02967

I ended up with a pop-up card that just didn’t pop.

DSC02969

Lessons learned, it turns out, actually do come cheap. I spent about $3.00 on some packing tape to “hobo-laminate” my rhino and everything else I had already. I really do enjoy getting and giving pop-up cards. Especially as an adult, it’s fun and surprising to receive a piece of art (a humble piece of art, but still art) that says something about how others see you. I had big plans for this rhinoceros. But it’s a good reminder that not all crafts will turn out the way we want them. I think the number one trait a craftster should possess, beyond skill or even creativity is patience. All is not lost. I will pop-up again. But this time, I’m getting an instruction book from the library.

Oh, and here. I got you these flowers to make up for my crappy craft.

DSC02940

4 Responses to “Not Quite Ready For Oragami: Pop-Up Card”

  1. Carol July 23, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    Don’t give up! Your pop up step just needed to be a little taller–and you might need another tab attaching the top of the picture to the top of the card to keep the whole thing from flapping forward.

    • anniee July 23, 2009 at 2:33 pm #

      I do think the step size was the problem. Thanks! I will persevere!

  2. Your niece!!! August 19, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

    You can do it!! Keep trying!!

    • anniee August 19, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

      Thanks niecy! I’m going to get it one of these days.

Leave a Reply

