Ol’ Fuzzy Neck: Spring Knit Collar

14 Apr

window

Sure, sure. Spring. I’ve heard about it. It’s after the feeling in your extremities has returned and your windburns have healed but before you have to start peeling your thigh skin off of your desk chair or, worse, your bus seat. Here in the Midwest, this spring thing doesn’t start until at least late April. So, although your buddies are returning from Cabo with new tans and piercings, they’re not going to be able to show either off for a few weeks yet.

Enter this charming and wallet-friendly gift: the knit collar. Bulky scarves are so last December. And with this fun, easy to make collar, your friends can celebrate springwithout worrying about frostbite.

I made this on my Knifty Knitter (Provo Craft), a knitting loom and a wise investment (under $20) for the needle-impaired. You just wrap the yarn around the pegs for an hour or two while you’re watching your favorite medical drama or reality television competition. The yarn I chose has some fun bright colors in it so that it feels warmer-weathery. I got it at a thrift store in sweater form for about $1.75 and unraveled the yarn after I accidentally shrunk the sweater. Knifty Knitter was a gift so my total costs, not including wrapping paper, came in under $2.

dsc023571dsc023581photo-421

Aah. A warm neck on a blustery day. Looks good pulled up around your chin or folded over (see top pic). Haven’t figured out who I’ll give this to yet. I’ll have to keep my eye out for acquaintences with chin hair or unsightly Adam’s apples so I can be sure this gift gets put to use all year round.

Cost: $1.75 ($20-$25 with new knitting loom and new yarn)

Time: 1 and a half hours.

3 Responses to “Ol’ Fuzzy Neck: Spring Knit Collar”

  1. Erin MIshler October 12, 2009 at 9:33 am #

    Where can I find one of those neat knitters????

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s The Great Fall Care Package Charlie Brown! « Thriftfulness - October 12, 2009

    […] and I’m taking crappy pictures with PhotoBooth on my Mac, are yummy butterscotch cookies, a Knifty Knitted Neck Collar, some spice-scented lip balm I tucked inside a little extra-buttons envelope, and neat-o Edward […]

  2. The 12 Relatives of Christmas (and what to give them) « Thriftfulness - February 3, 2011

    […] someone like this, give him something to keep that disease ridden winter air away by knitting him a Knit Collar on the Knifty Knitter. Though you might not think to make these neck snuggies for a man, with the […]

Leave a Reply

