Care Enough to Give the Very Cheapest: DIY Gift Tags

22 Dec

I hope by this day you’ve got all your gifts made or bought because if you have a JoAnn’s Fabrics trip to make yet, Lord help you. You don’t want to see the coupon hoarding and dented ornament grabbing that’s going on there. JoAnn would not be be pleased.

So if you don’t have the time or the money or the sheer will to go back out and buy up wrapping paper and gift-tags, you have two options:

A) buy up those Christmas tree shaped Little Debbies that are delicious and have free gift tags printed on the back. Although after you finish all those tasty trees, you might have to go to JoAnn’s anyway to buy some more elastic for your pants. Plus people will judge you for eating lots of boxes of Little Debbies.

B) OR you can find creative gift wrapping solutions here and look below at my the gift tags I made out of the paper crap.

I suggest the latter option (and one box of Christmas tree cakes).

This year, instead of buying gifts for every person in my family, we are each buying five of our favorite things for $5 or under and then drawing names to exchange. This way, we each only spend $25 and we get to share cheap stuff that we love, which is one of our family pastimes anyway. We’re not wrapping the gifts so as not to waste paper (so savvy and modern we are! (read: cheap)) so I wanted to make cute tags to let the fam know, “Hey this high caliber $3.99 present is from Yours Truly”.

I made the tags below from the backs of some birthday or thank you cards I’d received and pictures of animals from an old children’s encyclopedia:

I made these from, uh, the same thing: old greeting cards and encyclopedia pictures. But these ones have birds!:

The little number below is one tiny square of wrapping paper that I bought and felt guilty about for spending so much on, hence the saving of tiny little squares of it:

And you may remember from the 2010 Valentines I made that I once had an address book that was pictures of phones:

Then I stamped the back with a custom-made “annie’s fave things”. I was too lazy to spell “favorite”.:

Aw, would you look at that?

Is that just sweeter than any Little Debbie you’ve ever seen? What a difference hoarding and glue can make!

 

3 Responses to “Care Enough to Give the Very Cheapest: DIY Gift Tags”

  1. Emily Armitage December 22, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Love it! Very creative and I will definitely be doing these for my gifts!

    • anniee December 22, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

      Thanks! One of them was from a card you sent me!!

  2. TheCoffee&CraftsChronicles. December 23, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    This an awesome idea, thanks for sharing, I’ll be trying to get some don’t tonight for my gift receivers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

